spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches experimental 5G communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Jan 20, 2020, 8:41 PM ET (0141 GMT)
China launched an experimental 5G communications satellite Wednesday night. A Kuaizhou-1A solid launch vehicle lifted off from a mobile platform at the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 10:02 pm EST (0302 GMT Thursday) and placed the Yinhe-1 (Galaxy-1) technology verification satellite into low Earth orbit. The satellite, developed by Chinese company Galaxy Space, is expected to test Q/V- and Ka-band communications at up to 10 gigabits per second. The satellite is part of plans to establish a global 5G constellation based on the "low-cost, high-performance" Galaxy-1 small satellite platform.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Discovery mission finalists
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:23 AM ET (1323 GMT)

Astranis raises $90 million for small GEO satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)

SpaceShipTwo arrives at Spaceport America
Posted: Sat, Feb 15 8:21 AM ET (1321 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 19
Ready to buy a trip to orbit from Elon Musk?
Quartz — 6:36 am ET (1136 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list