spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Two defunct satellites narrowly avoid collision in low Earth orbit
Posted: Sat, Feb 1, 2020, 8:27 AM ET (1327 GMT)
Two satellites made a close pass to each other but did not collide Wednesday evening. The IRAS astronomy satellite passed close to the GGSE-4 satellite at 6:39 pm EST (2339 GMT) about 900 kilometers above Pittsburgh, but observations after the close approach confirmed the satellites did not collide. Predictions earlier in the day at one point estimated a 1-in-20 chance of a collision between the two defunct, non-maneuverable satellites. The close approach highlighted the concerns about orbital debris.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

H-2B launches HTV cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)

NASA human spaceflight head abruptly resigns
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 27
OneWeb applies to FCC for bigger fleet authorisation
Telecompaper — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
NASA eyes Aug. for SpaceX ship liftoff with Japanese astronaut aboard
Kyodo International — 7:16 am ET (1116 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list