spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Mar 20, 2020, 9:13 PM ET (0113 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Starlink satellites, March 2020 (SpaceX) A SpaceX Falcon 9 launched another set of Starlink satellites Wednesday morning, but failed to land the booster. The rocket lifted off from Launch Complex 39A at the Kennedy Space Center at 8:16 am EDT (1216 GMT) and deployed the 60 Starlink satellites into orbit 15 minutes later. The rocket's first stage, making a record-setting fifth flight, did not perform a successful droneship landing, but SpaceX disclosed few details about what went wrong. Elon Musk later said that a first stage engine shut down prematurely during ascent. The launch was scheduled for Sunday but aborted at the last second because of "out of family data" during engine startup.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Weather scrubs Demo-2 launch attempt
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)

First LauncherOne mission fails to reach orbit
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)

Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 29
Space Force's Newest Ad Asks What's Ahead for Humanity
Military.com — 6:21 am ET (1021 GMT)
What’s a Space Weapon? The Answer Can Be Complicated.
Air Force Magazine — 6:20 am ET (1020 GMT)
No stopping Rocket Lab in new alert level
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list