spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First LauncherOne mission fails to reach orbit
Posted: Thu, May 28, 2020, 6:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)
LauncherOne first launch (Virgin Orbit) Virgin Orbit's first LauncherOne rocket failed to make it to orbit Monday. The rocket, carried aloft by the company's Boeing 747 aircraft, was released at about 3:50 pm EDT (1950 GMT) off the coast of Southern California. The rocket's NewtonThree first stage engine ignited and fired for several seconds before an "anomaly" caused it to shut down, terminating the mission. The cause of the anomaly was not immediately known, company officials said late Monday, but they emphasized that the flight had been proceeding smoothly up until that point, including release and ignition. In a prelaunch briefing Saturday, Virgin Orbit lowered expectations for the launch attempt by noting that only about 50% of first launches of new rockets have been successful. The schedule for the next launch attempt will depend on the outcome of the investigation and any additional testing or modifications required, but before the launch the company had expected to perform one or two more LauncherOne missions this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 6
With Iran in its sights, Israel launches new spy satellite into orbit
The Times of Israel — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
Israel launches Ofek 16 recon satellite into orbit
i24news — 5:37 am ET (0937 GMT)
Israel successfully launches new spy satellite
Calcalist — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)
Israel successfully launches Ofek 16 spy satellite into space
Jerusalem Post — 5:36 am ET (0936 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list