spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Long March 3B launches Apstar-6D
Posted: Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 7:33 PM ET (2333 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of Apstar-6D (Xinhua) A Long March 3B rocket successfully launched the Apstar-6D communications satellite Thursday. The rocket, lifting off at 8:11 am EDT (1211 GMT) from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center, placed the 5,500-kilogram satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit. The satellite is the first commercial success of China’s enhanced Dongfanghong-4 platform, the DFH-4E, which includes upgraded components to lighten the satellite platform and allow more room for communications payloads. APT Mobile has described Apstar-6D as the first of a global system of three or four satellites for broadband connectivity to aircraft, ships and remote locations.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship prototype makes first hop test
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:39 PM ET (2139 GMT)

Crew Dragon splashes down successfully
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:38 PM ET (2138 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of Electron failure
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:35 PM ET (2135 GMT)

news links
Friday, August 7
SpaceX Has Successful Overnight Starlink Mission Launch
Spectrum News — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list