spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First Kuaizhou-11 launch fails
Posted: Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 7:34 PM ET (2334 GMT)
Kuaizhou-11 first launch (CCTV/CASIC) The first launch of China's Kuaizhou-11 rocket ended in failure Friday. The solid-fuel rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 12:17 am EDT (0417 GMT) but suffered some kind of malfunction in flight. Video footage of the launch taken from a delayed stream indicates the rocket performed well for at least one minute, with unofficial reports of first and second stage separation. The failure resulted in the loss of the Jilin-1 video satellite and CentiSpace-1-S2. The Kuaizhou-11 is a larger version of the Kuaizhou-1A solid rocket, operated by Expace, a commercial spinoff from the China Aerospace Science and Industry Corp., a state-owned missile maker. It's designed to place up to 1,000 kilograms into sun-synchronous orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 19
Rocket Lab Wins Design Contract for Mars Mission
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:22 am ET (1222 GMT)
The Detail: Aotearoa's space business is booming
Stuff.co.nz — 8:22 am ET (1222 GMT)
DA says SpaceX may be violating Texas law
Port Isabel (TX) Press — 8:21 am ET (1221 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list