spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First Kuaizhou-11 launch fails
Posted: Tue, Jul 14, 2020, 7:34 PM ET (2334 GMT)
Kuaizhou-11 first launch (CCTV/CASIC) The first launch of China's Kuaizhou-11 rocket ended in failure Friday. The solid-fuel rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 12:17 am EDT (0417 GMT) but suffered some kind of malfunction in flight. Video footage of the launch taken from a delayed stream indicates the rocket performed well for at least one minute, with unofficial reports of first and second stage separation. The failure resulted in the loss of the Jilin-1 video satellite and CentiSpace-1-S2. The Kuaizhou-11 is a larger version of the Kuaizhou-1A solid rocket, operated by Expace, a commercial spinoff from the China Aerospace Science and Industry Corp., a state-owned missile maker. It's designed to place up to 1,000 kilograms into sun-synchronous orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship prototype makes first hop test
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:39 PM ET (2139 GMT)

Crew Dragon splashes down successfully
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:38 PM ET (2138 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of Electron failure
Posted: Thu, Aug 6 5:35 PM ET (2135 GMT)

news links
Friday, August 7
SpaceX Has Successful Overnight Starlink Mission Launch
Spectrum News — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list