spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches Mars mission
Posted: Sun, Jul 26, 2020, 1:05 PM ET (1705 GMT)
Long March 5 launch of Tianwen-1 (CASC) China successfully launched an ambitious Mars mission Thursday. A Long March 5 rocket lifted off from the Wenchang Satellite Launch Center at 12:41 am EDT (0441 GMT) carrying the Tianwen-1 spacecraft. The China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation confirmed a successful trans-Mars injection burn 40 minutes later. Tianwen-1 is due to arrive at Mars in February 2021, entering a highly elliptical orbit. The spacecraft will then move to a near-polar orbit with a periapsis of 265 kilometers for two to three months before attempting to land a rover on the surface in the Utopia Planitia region of Mars. The ambitious mission includes seven science payloads on the orbiter, such as a high-resolution camera comparable to HiRISE on NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter. The rover, designed to last 90 Mars days, carries six instruments, including cameras, spectrometers and a ground-penetrating radar.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)

China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

Relativity Space raises $500 million
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, December 2
Third Accident Strikes Arecibo Observatory
Aviation Week — 6:48 am ET (1148 GMT)
China’s Chang’e 5 mission has successfully landed on the moon
Technology Review — 6:47 am ET (1147 GMT)
China Space Agency: Lunar Probe Successfully Lands on Moon
Voice of America — 6:44 am ET (1144 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list