spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Crew Dragon splashes down successfully
Posted: Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 5:38 PM ET (2138 GMT)
Demo-2 splashdown (NASA) A SpaceX Crew Dragon spacecraft splashed down in the Gulf of Mexico Sunday afternoon, successfully returning two NASA astronauts to Earth. The spacecraft, named Endeavour by its crew of Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley, landed without incident in the Gulf of Mexico south of Pensacola, Florida, at 2:48 pm EDT (1848 GMT). The astronauts exited the spacecraft a little more than an hour later, once the spacecraft was brought aboard a recovery vessel. The spacecraft undocked from the International Space Station Saturday evening after spending just over two months there on the Demo-2 mission. The undocking, reentry and splashdown went as planned, with the only issue being a large number of private boats swarming the area after splashdown. The completion of the test flight means that NASA and SpaceX can wrap up certification of the Crew Dragon in the next few weeks, allowing routine crew transportation missions to begin with the Crew-1 flight scheduled for no earlier than late September.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 29


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list