spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Starship prototype makes first hop test
Posted: Thu, Aug 6, 2020, 5:39 PM ET (2139 GMT)
Starship SN5 first hop (SpaceX) A SpaceX Starship prototype made a long-awaited brief test flight Tuesday evening. The Starship SN5 vehicle lifted off from the company's Boca Chica, Texas, test site shortly before 8 pm EDT (0000 GMT), touching down on a neighboring pad about 45 seconds later after flying to an estimated altitude of 150 meters. The "hop" test was the first free flight of a Starship prototype. Last September, SpaceX CEO Elon Musk said such a flight would take place in one to two months, but several previous prototypes were destroyed in ground tests.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 24
Space Force establishes the first of three field commands
Military Times — 9:16 am ET (1316 GMT)
Colorado's case to house U.S. Space Command grows even stronger
Colorado Springs Gazette — 9:16 am ET (1316 GMT)
Raymond building culture of urgency into new Space Force
Colorado Springs Gazette — 9:15 am ET (1315 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list