spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX and ULA win military launch contracts
Posted: Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 5:15 PM ET (2115 GMT)
Vulcan launch vehicle illustration (ULA) SpaceX and United Launch Alliance have won contracts potentially worth billions of dollars to launch national security satellites for much of the coming decade. The Pentagon announced Friday that the two companies won National Security Space Launch (NSSL) Phase 2 contracts, covering launches of military and intelligence satellites from fiscal year 2022 through 2027. The Air Force immediately assigned two launches to ULA and one to SpaceX for missions in 2022. SpaceX will use its existing Falcon 9 and Falcon Heavy rockets, while ULA will use its Vulcan Centaur rocket in development. The two companies beat out Blue Origin and Northrop Grumman, which offered their New Glenn and OmegA rockets in development.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Reused Falcon 9 launched GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:30 PM ET (2130 GMT)

Chinese crew launches to space station
Posted: Fri, Jun 18 5:29 PM ET (2129 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 19
How Newquay Virgin Spaceport could benefit Cornwall businesses
Falmouth (UK) Packet — 8:11 am ET (1211 GMT)
NASA inches closer to printing artificial organs in space
Technology Review — 8:10 am ET (1210 GMT)
Rep. Waltz reacts to latest 'woke' NASA ad
Fox News — 8:09 am ET (1209 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list