spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches Starlink, BlackSky satellites
Posted: Sat, Aug 8, 2020, 5:09 PM ET (2109 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Starlink satellites, early Aug 2020 (SpaceX) SpaceX launched another set of Starlink satellites, and two BlackSky imaging satellites, early Friday. The Falcon 9 lifted off from the Kennedy Space Center at 1:12 am EDT (0512 GMT) and deployed the two BlackSky satellites a little more than an hour after liftoff, followed by 57 Starlink satellites a half-hour later. The rocket's first stage, making its fifth flight, landed on a droneship successfully, but SpaceX was unable to catch the two payload fairing halves. The launch had been delayed several times since late June, which SpaceX said was caused by weather and payload issues, and not problems with the rocket itself.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 24
Space Force establishes the first of three field commands
Military Times — 9:16 am ET (1316 GMT)
Colorado's case to house U.S. Space Command grows even stronger
Colorado Springs Gazette — 9:16 am ET (1316 GMT)
Raymond building culture of urgency into new Space Force
Colorado Springs Gazette — 9:15 am ET (1315 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list