spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane 5 launches three satellites
Posted: Fri, Aug 21, 2020, 5:48 PM ET (2148 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of Galaxy-30, MEV-2, and BSAT-4b, August 2020 (Arianespace) A long-delayed Ariane 5 launched three commercial satellites Saturday. The Ariane 5 lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 6:04 pm EDT (2204 GMT) and deployed the Galaxy 30, MEV-2 and BSAT-4b satellites into geostationary transfer orbits. The launch was the first from Kourou since February, a gap caused by the closure of the spaceport for several months during the coronavirus pandemic. A launch attempt two weeks earlier was scrubbed because of technical problems, and weather delayed the launch an additional day. Galaxy-30 and BSAT-4b are communications satellites for Intelsat and Japanese operator BSAT, while MEV-2 is a satellite life extension spacecraft built by Northrop Grumman that will initially service the Intelsat 10-02 satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Intelsat finalizes C-band satellite orders and launches
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 10:01 AM ET (1401 GMT)

Northrop Grumman wins military satellite contract
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)

OHB signs contracts for ESA planetary defense mission
Posted: Sun, Sep 20 9:53 AM ET (1353 GMT)

news links
Saturday, October 24
Space Force establishes the first of three field commands
Military Times — 9:16 am ET (1316 GMT)
Colorado's case to house U.S. Space Command grows even stronger
Colorado Springs Gazette — 9:16 am ET (1316 GMT)
Raymond building culture of urgency into new Space Force
Colorado Springs Gazette — 9:15 am ET (1315 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list