spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)
Long March 5 launch of Change-5 (Xinhua) China launched Monday a mission to land on the moon and collect samples for return to the Earth. The Long March 5 lifted off from the Wenchang Satellite Launch Center at 3:30 pm EST (2030 GMT), and Chinese officials said the Chang'e-5 spacecraft had deployed from its upper stage on its planned trajectory about 75 minutes later. The spacecraft will land at Mons Rümker on the moon, collect about two kilograms of samples and return to Earth, landing in China in mid-December. If successful, China will be only the third nation, after the United States and former Soviet Union, to bring back lunar samples.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 21
EU signs contracts for 12 new satellites
Brussels Times — 6:11 am ET (1111 GMT)
Space Force Receives Fifth SBIRS Satellite
National Defense Magazine — 6:11 am ET (1111 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list