spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27, 2020, 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Starlink satellites, November 2020 (SpaceX) SpaceX launched another set of Starlink satellites Tuesday night on the 100th flight of the Falcon 9. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 9:13 pm EST (0213 GMT Wednesday) and deployed the 60 satellites 15 minutes later. The rocket's first stage, making a record-setting seventh launch, landed on a droneship in the Atlantic. This flight marked the 100th launch of the Falcon 9, including one launch failure in 2015. With the launch, SpaceX now has nearly 900 Starlink satellites in orbit and plans to expand a beta test of its broadband internet service early next year. SpaceX also recently requested permission from the FCC to launch a set of Starlink satellites into a polar orbit to provide service in Alaska as the FCC reviews a broader modification of the Starlink constellation the company filed with the FCC earlier this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 21
EU signs contracts for 12 new satellites
Brussels Times — 6:11 am ET (1111 GMT)
Space Force Receives Fifth SBIRS Satellite
National Defense Magazine — 6:11 am ET (1111 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list