spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab catches and releases booster in Electron flight
Posted: Sun, May 8, 2022, 9:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)
Electron booster before catch, May 2022 (Rocket Lab) In a case of launch vehicle catch-and-release, Rocket Lab briefly caught a descending Electron booster after a launch Monday, only to drop it into the ocean moments later. The Electron lifted off from Rocket Lab's New Zealand launch site at 6:49 pm EDT (2249 GMT) on a mission called "There and Back Again" by the company. The rocket's first stage, descending under a parachute, was grabbed by a hook attached to a helicopter about 15 minutes later, but "different load characteristics" than expected led the helicopter pilot to release the booster moments later, which then splashed down in the ocean undamaged. This test was to be the final demonstration of the system Rocket Lab planned to use to recover and reuse boosters, and the company said the test was still a "huge achievement" despite having to release the booster. The launch itself was successful, placing 34 payloads into orbit, including 24 satellites for Swarm Technologies and the first three prototype satellites for Greg Wyler's E-Space.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
InSight Mars mission nears end
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)

NASA puts ISS spacewalks on hold to investigate suit issue
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from KSC
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:12 AM ET (1312 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 25
Upstart OneWeb Pairs With Gogo, Satcom Direct
Aviation Week — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Space Force Can Only ‘Mitigate’ China-Russia Space Cooperation
Air Force Magazine — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list