spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches first upgraded Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Mar 5, 2023, 11:18 AM ET (1618 GMT)
SpaceX launched the first set of upgraded second-generation Starlink satellites Monday. A Falcon 9 lifted off at 6:13 pm EST (2313 GMT) from Cape Canaveral and deployed 21 Starlink satellites into orbit about an hour later. The satellites are the first "V2 Mini" Starlink spacecraft, significantly larger than first-generation satellites but smaller than the full-scale second-generation satellites that will be launched on Starship. The V2 Mini spacecraft have four times the capacity of earlier Starlink satellites and also have electric thrusters that use argon, rather than krypton, as propellant.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA and ESA finalize ExoMars Rosalind Franklin agreement
Posted: Sun, May 19 8:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)

Russia launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, May 19 7:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)

BEpiColombo Mercury mission suffers thruster problem
Posted: Sun, May 19 7:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 23
San Antonio leaders working to land new Space Force cyber unit in city
San Antonio Express-News — 6:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list