spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Electron launches four NorthStar satellites
Posted: Sun, Feb 4, 2024, 9:04 AM ET (1404 GMT)
A Rocket Lab Electron launched four satellites Wednesday in another test of the company's reusability efforts. The Electron lifted off from the company's Launch Complex 1 in New Zealand at 1:34 am EST (0634 GMT) and deployed four satellites for NorthStar Earth and Space into low Earth orbit 52 minutes later. The satellites, built by Spire, will collect space situational awareness data and are the first of a constellation of at least 12 spacecraft. The first stage splashed down and was recovered by a ship. The company has been working on recovering and refurbishing boosters with the goal of reusing them. The launch was the first this year for Rocket Lab, which said 2024 will be its busiest year yet.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Intuitive Machines lunar lander
Posted: Sun, Feb 18 7:59 AM ET (1259 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches missile-warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Feb 18 7:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, Feb 18 7:45 AM ET (1245 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 21
Space Force: We need a hotline to China
Defense One — 6:02 am ET (1102 GMT)
Musk: SpaceX aims to launch third Starship by second week of March
KVEO-TV Rio Grande Valley, TX — 5:59 am ET (1059 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list