spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches NASA's PACE Earth science satellite
Posted: Sat, Feb 10, 2024, 12:01 PM ET (1701 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of PACE (SpaceX) SpaceX launched a NASA Earth science satellite early Thursday. A Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 1:33 am EST (0633 GMT) and placed into orbit NASA's Plankton, Aerosol, Cloud, ocean Ecosystem, or PACE, spacecraft. The nearly billion-dollar spacecraft will collect data to monitor ocean biology as well as clouds and aerosols in the atmosphere. The launch was the first U.S. government mission to go to polar orbit from Cape Canaveral since 1960. SpaceX conducted the launch from Florida, rather than Vandenberg Space Force Base in California, at the request of the PACE mission team, which wanted to be closer to its home at Goddard Space Flight Center in Maryland.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Intuitive Machines lunar lander
Posted: Sun, Feb 18 7:59 AM ET (1259 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches missile-warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Feb 18 7:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress cargo spacecraft
Posted: Sun, Feb 18 7:45 AM ET (1245 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 21
Space Force: We need a hotline to China
Defense One — 6:02 am ET (1102 GMT)
Musk: SpaceX aims to launch third Starship by second week of March
KVEO-TV Rio Grande Valley, TX — 5:59 am ET (1059 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list