spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches missile-warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Feb 18, 2024, 7:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of USSF-124 (SpaceX) Another Falcon 9 launched a set of missile-warning satellites seven and a half hours earlier. The rocket lifted off from Cape Canaveral Space Force Station at 5:30 pm EST (2230 GMT) Wednesday on the USSF-124 mission procured by the Space Force. The payload included five satellites made by L3Harris Technologies and one made by Northrop Grumman. The Northrop Grumman satellite and one of the five from L3Harris are the first prototypes developed under the Missile Defense Agency's Hypersonic and Ballistic Tracking Space Sensor program. The other four L3Harris satellites are part of the Space Development Agency's Tracking Layer Tranche 0. Both agencies are collaborating to develop a sensor network for tracking both hypersonic and ballistic missiles.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Iceye raises $93 million
Posted: Sat, Apr 20 10:28 AM ET (1428 GMT)

NASA seeks revamp of Mars Sample Return program
Posted: Sat, Apr 20 10:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)

NASA confirms ISS debris hit Florida house
Posted: Sat, Apr 20 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)

news links


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list