spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches Astra 1P
Posted: Sun, Jun 23, 2024, 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Astra 1P (SES) SpaceX launched a new broadcast satellite for SES Thursday. A Falcon 9 lifted off at 5:35 pm EDT (2135 GMT), after two days of weather delays, and placed the Astra 1P satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit 35 minutes later. Built by Thales Alenia Space, Astra 1P will use electric propulsion to reach its orbital slot at 19.2 degrees East, where it is slated to complete health checks in time for services to start in January. SES currently provides TV services to around 119 million households from four satellites at this orbital slot, mostly in Germany, Spain and France, and Astra 1P has enough Ku-band capacity to replace all four.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list