spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab launches 50th Electron
Posted: Sun, Jun 23, 2024, 11:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)
Electron launch of first Kineis satellites (Rocket Lab) Rocket Lab launched the first satellites for French startup Kinéis on the 50th flight of its Electron rocket Thursday. The Electron lifted off from Launch Complex 1 in New Zealand at 2:13 pm EDT (1813 GMT) and placed five smallsats for Kinéis into low Earth orbit. The satellites are the first of a constellation of 25 spacecraft that will provide Internet of Things services. Kinéis signed a contract with Rocket Lab in 2021 for five Electron launches to deploy the constellation. The launch was the 50th for the Electron, which made its debut in May 2017. Rocket Lab says Electron made it to 50 launches faster than any other commercially developed rocket.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list