spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russian satellite breaks up in LEO
Posted: Sun, Jun 30, 2024, 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)
A defunct Russian satellites has broken up in low Earth orbit, creating potentially hundreds of pieces of debris. U.S. Space Command said Thursday that the Resurs P1 remote sensing satellite suffered a breakup event around 12 pm EDT (1600 GMT) Wednesday. The debris from the breakup briefly caused the International Space Station crew to shelter in their spacecraft. LeoLabs said it was tracking at least 180 pieces of debris from the event. Resurs P1 is a 6,000-kilogram spacecraft that was decommissioned in late 2021 and is in a low orbit expected to decay by the end of the year. It was not clear if the breakup was caused by an event on the spacecraft itself or a collision.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 20
Former SPAC Astra is Once Again a Private Company
ViaSatellite — 9:12 pm ET (0112 GMT)
California brushes off Elon Musk's plans to move X, SpaceX to Texas
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)
Elon Musk faces backlash over Boca Chica's 'Starbase, Texas' rebrand
San Antonio Express-News — 9:09 pm ET (0109 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list