spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Business briefs: September 16
Posted: Tue, Sep 17 9:03 AM ET (1303 GMT)
Arianespace announced Monday that it has won a contract to launch the Spainsat communications satellite. The Space Systems/Loral spacecraft will be launched by an...

News briefs: September 16
Posted: Tue, Sep 17 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
A Japanese satellite launched last week reached its final orbit this weekend only after using its backup engines. The Data Relay Test Satellite, also named...

News briefs: September 14-15
Posted: Mon, Sep 16 11:17 AM ET (1517 GMT)
The Indian Space research Organization announced Sunday that it has conducted the longest test to date of an indigenously-developed cryogenic engine. The engine, which...

News briefs: September 13
Posted: Sat, Sep 14 12:50 PM ET (1650 GMT)
NASA plans to make a announcement on Monday regarding research activities on the International Space Station, the agency said Friday. According to NASA Watch, Expedition...

News briefs: September 12
Posted: Fri, Sep 13 10:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)
NASA is willing to consider reviving a crew return vehicle (CRV) and other ISS programs that have been victims of budget cuts, the Huntsville Times...

Indian PSLV launches weather satellite
Posted: Thu, Sep 12 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)
An Indian Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) successfully launched that nation's first dedicated weather satellite on Thursday afternoon. The PSLV lifted off from the...

News briefs: September 11
Posted: Thu, Sep 12 7:46 AM ET (1146 GMT)
A object recently discovered in a distant orbit around the Earth is most likely a discarded rocket stage, astronomers said Wednesday. The object, given the...

Atlantis moves to launch pad
Posted: Wed, Sep 11 2:26 PM ET (1826 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis was rolled out to its launch pad Tuesday in preparation for the first shuttle flight in four months. The shuttle moved...

NASA selects TRW to build space telescope
Posted: Wed, Sep 11 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
NASA announced early Tuesday that it had selected TRW to build a successor to the Hubble Space Telescope that will be named after a former...

News briefs: September 10
Posted: Wed, Sep 11 7:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)
The launch of a Japanese laboratory module for the International Space Station will be delayed by one year, until 2006, SPACE.com reported Tuesday. The...



news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list