spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astrophysicists win Nobel Physics Prize
Posted: Wed, Oct 9 7:14 AM ET (1114 GMT)
Three physicists from the US and Japan have won the 2002 Nobel Prize for their work in x-ray and neutrino astronomy. One half of...

Russia may add cosmonaut to Soyuz taxi flight
Posted: Tue, Oct 8 1:29 PM ET (1729 GMT)
The Russian space agency Rosaviakosmos is considering adding a cosmonaut to the crew of this month’s Soyuz taxi flight to the ISS, replacing would-...

House proposal for NASA budget includes funding for Pluto, Europa missions
Posted: Tue, Oct 8 1:07 PM ET (1707 GMT)
The House Appropriations Committee has proposed adding funding for missions to Pluto and Europa in NASA's 2003 budget, the committee announced Monday. The committee...

Report: space tourism could become billion-dollar industry in 20 years
Posted: Tue, Oct 8 8:06 AM ET (1206 GMT)
A report published Monday by the Futron Corporation concludes that space tourism could develop into an industry with revenues of over $1 billion a year...

Astronomers discover giant Kuiper Belt object
Posted: Tue, Oct 8 7:50 AM ET (1150 GMT)
Two Caltech astronomers announced Monday that they have discovered the largest Kuiper Belt object found to date, an icy body half the size of the...

EchoStar trying to salvage DirecTV merger
Posted: Tue, Oct 8 7:36 AM ET (1136 GMT)
Concerned that the federal government will nix its proposed merger, satellite television providers EchoStar and DirecTV are proposing major concessions to try and keep the...

Atlantis lifts off on STS-112
Posted: Mon, Oct 7 6:18 PM ET (2218 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis launched on schedule Monday afternoon on a mission to the International Space Station. Atlantis lifted off from Pad 39B of the...

Delta 4 moves closer to launch
Posted: Mon, Oct 7 2:40 PM ET (1840 GMT)
The inaugural Delta 4 has taken another step towards launch with the successful completion of a series of tanking tests, Boeing announced Monday. The sixth...

Shuttle ready for launch Monday
Posted: Mon, Oct 7 11:40 AM ET (1540 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis is ready for a Monday afternoon launch on a mission to the International Space Station, NASA officials said. Shuttle managers announced...

GAO recommends NASA delay SLI review
Posted: Mon, Oct 7 7:21 AM ET (1121 GMT)
A report released last week by the General Accounting Office (GAO) recommends that NASA complete several tasks before proceeding with portions of the Space Launch...



news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, October 18
Mo Brooks Named Founding Member of New House NASA Caucus
Yellowhammer News — 8:03 pm ET (0003 GMT)
Epic new Lego set honors the pioneering women of NASA and people are loving it
Atlanta Journal-Constitution — 8:03 pm ET (0003 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list