spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Report: future Space Imaging funding uncertain
Posted: Mon, Nov 11 8:16 AM ET (1316 GMT)
Lockheed Martin, a major owner of commercial remote sensing company Space Imaging, said in an SEC filing Friday that it is uncertain whether Space Imaging...

Soyuz undocks from station, lands safely
Updated: Sun, Nov 10 9:48 AM ET (1448 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sat, Nov 9 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying a three-man taxi crew undocked from the International Space Station Saturday afternoon, landing in Kazakhstan several hours later. The Soyuz...

NASA confirms major SLI changes coming
Posted: Sat, Nov 9 9:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)
NASA announced Friday that it plans major changes to its Space Launch Initiative (SLI) program, scrapping plans to develop a second-generation reusable launch vehicle (...

Countdown begins for STS-113 launch
Posted: Sat, Nov 9 9:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)
Countdown clocks started Friday morning for the launch of the space shuttle Endeavour on a crew transfer mission to the International Space Station. The countdown...

Arianespace, ILS announce launch contracts
Posted: Fri, Nov 8 8:55 PM ET (0155 GMT)
Arianespace and International Launch Services (ILS) each announced Friday the signing of new commercial launch contracts. Arianespace reported that it had reached a deal with...

George Abbey to retire from NASA
Posted: Fri, Nov 8 8:23 PM ET (0123 GMT)
Former Johnson Space Center (JSC) director George Abbey will retire from NASA at the beginning of 2003, the agency announced Thursday. Abbey, who joined NASA...

Next Ariane 5 launch delayed to November 28
Posted: Thu, Nov 7 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)
The next launch of the Ariane 5, the first to feature a new, more powerful upper stage, has been delayed until November 28, Arianespace announced...

ESA moves ahead with Venus Express
Posted: Wed, Nov 6 2:12 PM ET (1912 GMT)
The European Space Agency announced Wednesday that it was moving ahead with plans to fly the Venus Express mission after working out an agreement with...

Galileo flies by Amalthea, enters safe mode
Posted: Wed, Nov 6 1:52 PM ET (1852 GMT)
NASA's Galileo spacecraft flew by Jupiter's small inner moon Amalthea early Tuesday but went into a protective safe mode shortly thereafter, project officials...

Experiment will use microwaves to boost spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Nov 6 8:04 AM ET (1304 GMT)
Scientists at the University of California Irvine have announced plans to test a technique of using ground-based microwave beams to change the orbits of...



news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 20
The new space race
The Economist — 9:47 am ET (1447 GMT)
No launch for Rocket Lab today
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 9:44 am ET (1444 GMT)
Rocket Lab forced to abort launch again
NZCity — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)
Rocket Lab second test called off for today
Radio New Zealand — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list