spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Boeing confirms Delta 4 launch date despite engine problem
Posted: Wed, Nov 6 7:45 AM ET (1245 GMT)
Boeing confirmed late Tuesday that it plans to launch its first Delta 4 booster on November 16 after giving the vehicle's upper-stage engine...

EchoStar, DirecTV planning merger countersuit
Posted: Wed, Nov 6 7:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)
Satellite television companies EchoStar and DirecTV are considering a countersuit to the US Justice Department's suit to block the merger of the two companies,...

First Stardust asteroid image released
Posted: Tue, Nov 5 10:41 AM ET (1541 GMT)
Scientists released on Monday an image of the asteroid Annefrank taken late Friday night by NASA's Stardust spacecraft. The image shows that the asteroid...

Pluto mission passes design review
Posted: Tue, Nov 5 10:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)
NASA's New Horizons mission to Pluto has passed its preliminary design review (PDR), project officials announced Monday. The PDR, held October 22-24 at...

China plans Shenzhou 4 launch by end of year
Posted: Mon, Nov 4 2:27 PM ET (1927 GMT)
China plans to launch Shenzhou 4, the fourth and perhaps final unmanned test flight of its manned spacecraft, by the end of the year, according...

Stardust completes asteroid flyby
Posted: Sun, Nov 3 10:05 PM ET (0305 GMT)
NASA's Stardust spacecraft flew by an asteroid late Friday night en route to its main destination. Stardust flew within 3,300 kilometers of the...

Cassini returns first image of Saturn
Posted: Sat, Nov 2 9:51 AM ET (1451 GMT)
NASA's Cassini spacecraft, launched five years ago, has returned its first image of Saturn while still en route to the ringed planet. NASA released...

Astronomers find ancient star
Posted: Sat, Nov 2 9:42 AM ET (1442 GMT)
Astronomers have discovered a star whose composition indicates that it dates back to the early universe. In a paper published in the current issue of...

Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Fri, Nov 1 8:20 AM ET (1320 GMT)
The Soyuz TMA-1 spacecraft successfully docked with the International Space Station early Friday. The two spacecraft docked at 12:01 am EST (0501 GMT)...

Endeavour scheduled for launch November 11
Posted: Fri, Nov 1 8:09 AM ET (1309 GMT)
NASA shuttle managers announced Thursday that they have scheduled the launch of the next shuttle mission for the early morning hours of November 11. Endeavour...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 24
Tory Bruno, the Other Rocket Man
Air & Space — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Eugene Parker’s Journey to the Sun
Air & Space — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Bezos offers moon to space agency
InnovationAus.com — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list