spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


XM, Sirius report large losses
Posted: Sat, Nov 16 11:16 AM ET (1616 GMT)
XM Satellite Radio and Sirius Satellite Radio, the two companies offering satellite radio services in the US, reported significant quarterly losses this week. XM reported...

First Delta 4 launch delayed three days
Posted: Fri, Nov 15 2:27 PM ET (1927 GMT)
Boeing announced Friday that the inaugural launch of its Delta 4 booster will be delayed at least three days because of an unspecified technical issue....

EADS expects continued losses from space business
Posted: Fri, Nov 15 7:45 AM ET (1245 GMT)
The European Aeronautic Defence and Space Company (EADS), Europe's largest aerospace company, said Thursday that it does not expect a profit from its space...

PanAmSat cancels planned satellite
Posted: Fri, Nov 15 7:25 AM ET (1225 GMT)
Satellite operator PanAmSat announced this week that it has canceled plans to purchase and launch a communications satellite. In a quarterly filing with the Securities...

NASA releases SLI budget changes
Posted: Thu, Nov 14 9:53 AM ET (1453 GMT)
NASA and the President submitted to Congress Wednesday requested amendments to the agency’s budget to accommodate changes in the Space Launch Initiative (SLI) program....

New telescope provides sharpest view of Sun
Posted: Thu, Nov 14 8:30 AM ET (1330 GMT)
A new Swedish telescope has taken the sharpest images to date of the Sun, astronomers announced this week. In a paper published in the latest...

Shuttle robot arm damaged during repairs
Posted: Wed, Nov 13 10:38 AM ET (1538 GMT)
Technicians inadvertently struck the robot arm in the space shuttle Endeavour's cargo bay while carrying out repair work Tuesday, causing at least superficial damage...

Astronomers find new evidence for dark energy
Posted: Tue, Nov 12 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)
Astronomers have used radio telescope observations to conclude that two-thirds of the universe is made of a bizarre "dark energy" that may explain why...

Boeing begins GPS 2F spacecraft production
Posted: Tue, Nov 12 8:32 AM ET (1332 GMT)
Boeing announced Monday that it has won approval from the US Air Force to begin work on the first three next-generation GPS spacecraft. Boeing...

Oxygen leak postpones shuttle launch
Posted: Mon, Nov 11 8:33 AM ET (1333 GMT)
An oxygen leak discovered only a few hours before launch will delay the flight of the space shuttle Endeavour by at least a week. Late...



news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 18
Business time at rocket lab
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:29 am ET (0929 GMT)
'Read With Me' Author Explores Private Space Travel
Northern Public Radio — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
Forget Galileo – UK space sector should look to young stars instead
Institution of Mechanical Engineers — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list