spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mars Odyssey begins its voyage to the Red Planet
Updated: Sat, Apr 7 10:45 PM ET (0245 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sat, Apr 7 12:06 PM ET (1606 GMT)
A Delta 2 rocket successfully launched the 2001 Mars Odyssey spacecraft Saturday morning, NASA's first mission to Mars since two failed missions in 1999....

Proton M inaugurual launch a success
Posted: Sat, Apr 7 11:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)
A Proton M, the newest version of the Russian heavy-lift launcher,successfully lifted off Saturday on its first flight. The rocket lifted off from...

Endeavour cleared for April 19 launch
Posted: Fri, Apr 6 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)
NASA decided Thursday to launch the space shuttle Endeavour on April 19 after considering proposals to move up or back the launch date. NASA had...

Commercial space industry shows solid growth in 2000
Posted: Thu, Apr 5 2:09 PM ET (1809 GMT)
Commercial space industry revenues grew by 17 percent last year to $81 billion dollars, a study released Thursday concluded. The Global Satellite Industry Indicators Survey,...

Endeavour launch could be rescheduled
Posted: Thu, Apr 5 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)
NASA is considering rescheduling the launch of the space shuttle Endeavour later this month to avoid a "traffic jam" at the International Space Station, but...

NASA still grappling with space station cost overrun
Posted: Wed, Apr 4 2:44 PM ET (1844 GMT)
NASA administrator Dan Goldin told members of the House Science Committee Wednesday that agency is still coming to terms with the effects $4 billion overrun...

NASA cancels next astronaut class
Posted: Wed, Apr 4 10:34 AM ET (1434 GMT)
NASA has canceled plans to select a new astronaut class later this year, the first such cancellation in over a decade, NASA officials confirmed this...

No compromise reached on Tito flight
Posted: Wed, Apr 4 10:19 AM ET (1419 GMT)
A US-Russian working group was unable to reach an agreement last week regarding the flight late this month of California millionaire Dennis Tito. A...

Sun unleashes biggest flare ever recorded
Updated: Tue, Apr 3 5:39 PM ET (2139 GMT)
Originally Posted: Tue, Apr 3 11:06 AM ET (1506 GMT)
The most powerful solar flare ever recorded was detected late Monday, but astronomers said that it should not pose a major threat to the Earth....

Distant supernova confirms accelerating universe
Posted: Tue, Apr 3 1:36 AM ET (0536 GMT)
The most distant supernova yet discovered has provided new evidence that the universe is expanding at an accelerating rate, astronomers said Monday. The supernova, designated...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list