spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle likely to make July 12 launch attempt
Posted: Wed, Jun 20 1:48 PM ET (1748 GMT)
NASA is likely to go ahead with a July 12 launch attempt of the space shuttle Atlantis on mission STS-104, according to news reports...

HESSI launch delayed indefinitely
Posted: Wed, Jun 20 10:11 AM ET (1411 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday that it has delayed indefinitely the launch of the HESSI space science spacecraft while the investigation into the X-43A launch failure...

Physicists solve solar neutrino problem
Posted: Tue, Jun 19 3:44 PM ET (1944 GMT)
Scientists announced Monday that they had resolved a long-standing problem regarding the Sun's output of nearly massless particles known as neutrinos. New data...

Atlas launches first New ICO satellite
Posted: Tue, Jun 19 12:01 PM ET (1601 GMT)
An Atlas 2 booster successfully launched early Tuesday the first spacecraft for satellite communications company New ICO. The Atlas 2AS lifted off from pad 36B...

Ariane launch prices predicted to fall
Posted: Mon, Jun 18 5:03 PM ET (2103 GMT)
The head of the French space agency CNES said Sunday that the cost per kilogram of the heavy-lift Ariane 5 should drop significantly in...

Proton launches communication satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
A Russian Proton booster successfully launched a European communications satellite late Friday night. The Proton lifted off from Baikonur, Kazakhstan at 9:49 pm EDT...

Space transportation tax credit bill introduced
Posted: Fri, Jun 15 2:39 PM ET (1839 GMT)
Several members of Congress introduced legislation Thursday that would provide tax credits for those who invest in new commercial launch vehicle projects. The "Invest in...

Mixed results for latest station arm test
Posted: Fri, Jun 15 11:30 AM ET (1530 GMT)
The crew of the International Space Station was able to complete a test of the station's robotic arm Thursday but encountered other problems during...

New evidence for water on Mars
Posted: Thu, Jun 14 9:03 AM ET (1303 GMT)
Two separate reports this week have raised hopes that water, in liquid or ice form, was and may still be common on Mars. A French...

NASA selects proposals for Mars Scout missions
Posted: Wed, Jun 13 6:37 PM ET (2237 GMT)
NASA announced Wednesday that it had selected ten proposals for further study as part of the agency's new Mars Scout program. The ten proposals,...



news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
Every 202,500 Years, Earth Wanders in a New Direction
New York Times — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Alien Asteroids Are Here, Scientists Say. Get Used to Them.
New York Times — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)
Antares launches Cygnus cargo spacecraft to ISS
Space News — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list