spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Solar sail test rescheduled for mid-July
Posted: Mon, Jun 11 5:33 PM ET (2133 GMT)
The suborbital test flight of a solar sail has now been rescheduled for mid-July after an accident earlier in the year delayed the launch,...

HESSI launch delayed until at least June 20
Posted: Mon, Jun 11 10:07 AM ET (1407 GMT)
The launch of a NASA spacecraft on a Pegasus XL booster has been delayed until at least June 20 because of the ongoing investigation into...

Kosmos rocket launches Russian military satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 10:44 PM ET (0244 GMT)
A Russian Kosmos-3M rocket successfully launched a military navigation satellite Friday, sources reported this weekend. The Kosmos-3M rocket lifted off from Plesetsk, Russia...

Shuttle worker strike averted
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:06 AM ET (1506 GMT)
Members of a union that represents a number of shuttle workers at the Kennedy Space Center approved a new contract Saturday, avoiding a strike that...

Ariane 4 launches communications satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 9 11:33 AM ET (1533 GMT)
An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched an Intelsat communications satellite early Saturday after a one-day delay. The Ariane 44L lifted off on Flight 141...

ISS crew completes first spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Jun 9 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)
Two members of the International Space Station Expedition Two crew completed their first spacewalk Friday, installing a docking apparatus in a section of the station....

NASA approves Mercury orbiter mission
Posted: Fri, Jun 8 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)
NASA gave the green light Thursday to development of the first spacecraft to orbit the planet Mercury. The Mercury Surface, Space Environment, Geochemistry and Ranging (...

Weather delays Ariane launch
Posted: Fri, Jun 8 10:28 AM ET (1428 GMT)
Poor weather conditions led Arianespace to scrub Friday morning's scheduled launch of an Intelsat communications satellite. An Ariane 44L was scheduled to lift off...

STS-104 launch delayed again
Posted: Thu, Jun 7 5:43 PM ET (2143 GMT)
The launch of the space shuttle Atlantis has been delayed again, but only by a few days, shuttle officials announced Thursday. Shuttle managers said the...

Senate report claims major mismanagement at NASA
Posted: Thu, Jun 7 5:32 PM ET (2132 GMT)
A report released Tuesday by a Senate committee listed NASA among the top ten agencies and programs with the worst mismanagement problems. The report, by...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 19
NOAA's Latest Advanced Weather Satellite Launches
Aviation Week — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Perfect Countdown and Liftoff for JPSS-1
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 2:52 am ET (0752 GMT)
Saturday morning launch at Vandenberg a success
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 2:51 am ET (0751 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list