spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Solar eclipse seen across southern Africa
Posted: Thu, Jun 21 5:41 PM ET (2141 GMT)
Millions of people in several southern African countries witnessed the first total solar eclipse of the millennium Thursday. Skies darkened along a band extending from...

Cassini mission altered to salvage Huygens data
Posted: Thu, Jun 21 10:22 AM ET (1422 GMT)
The Cassini mission to Saturn will be changed slightly to accommodate communications problems with the Huygens probe that will study the moon Titan, the Associated...

Shuttle likely to make July 12 launch attempt
Posted: Wed, Jun 20 1:48 PM ET (1748 GMT)
NASA is likely to go ahead with a July 12 launch attempt of the space shuttle Atlantis on mission STS-104, according to news reports...

HESSI launch delayed indefinitely
Posted: Wed, Jun 20 10:11 AM ET (1411 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday that it has delayed indefinitely the launch of the HESSI space science spacecraft while the investigation into the X-43A launch failure...

Physicists solve solar neutrino problem
Posted: Tue, Jun 19 3:44 PM ET (1944 GMT)
Scientists announced Monday that they had resolved a long-standing problem regarding the Sun's output of nearly massless particles known as neutrinos. New data...

Atlas launches first New ICO satellite
Posted: Tue, Jun 19 12:01 PM ET (1601 GMT)
An Atlas 2 booster successfully launched early Tuesday the first spacecraft for satellite communications company New ICO. The Atlas 2AS lifted off from pad 36B...

Ariane launch prices predicted to fall
Posted: Mon, Jun 18 5:03 PM ET (2103 GMT)
The head of the French space agency CNES said Sunday that the cost per kilogram of the heavy-lift Ariane 5 should drop significantly in...

Proton launches communication satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)
A Russian Proton booster successfully launched a European communications satellite late Friday night. The Proton lifted off from Baikonur, Kazakhstan at 9:49 pm EDT...

Space transportation tax credit bill introduced
Posted: Fri, Jun 15 2:39 PM ET (1839 GMT)
Several members of Congress introduced legislation Thursday that would provide tax credits for those who invest in new commercial launch vehicle projects. The "Invest in...

Mixed results for latest station arm test
Posted: Fri, Jun 15 11:30 AM ET (1530 GMT)
The crew of the International Space Station was able to complete a test of the station's robotic arm Thursday but encountered other problems during...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 21
America’s oldest rocket just made its penultimate flight
Ars Technica — 1:10 am ET (0610 GMT)
America’s ‘Booster Belt’ – Part One
SpaceFlight Insider — 1:06 am ET (0606 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list