spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


New evidence for water on Mars
Posted: Thu, Jun 14 9:03 AM ET (1303 GMT)
Two separate reports this week have raised hopes that water, in liquid or ice form, was and may still be common on Mars. A French...

NASA selects proposals for Mars Scout missions
Posted: Wed, Jun 13 6:37 PM ET (2237 GMT)
NASA announced Wednesday that it had selected ten proposals for further study as part of the agency's new Mars Scout program. The ten proposals,...

Solar sail test rescheduled for mid-July
Posted: Mon, Jun 11 5:33 PM ET (2133 GMT)
The suborbital test flight of a solar sail has now been rescheduled for mid-July after an accident earlier in the year delayed the launch,...

HESSI launch delayed until at least June 20
Posted: Mon, Jun 11 10:07 AM ET (1407 GMT)
The launch of a NASA spacecraft on a Pegasus XL booster has been delayed until at least June 20 because of the ongoing investigation into...

Kosmos rocket launches Russian military satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 10:44 PM ET (0244 GMT)
A Russian Kosmos-3M rocket successfully launched a military navigation satellite Friday, sources reported this weekend. The Kosmos-3M rocket lifted off from Plesetsk, Russia...

Shuttle worker strike averted
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:06 AM ET (1506 GMT)
Members of a union that represents a number of shuttle workers at the Kennedy Space Center approved a new contract Saturday, avoiding a strike that...

Ariane 4 launches communications satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 9 11:33 AM ET (1533 GMT)
An Ariane 4 booster successfully launched an Intelsat communications satellite early Saturday after a one-day delay. The Ariane 44L lifted off on Flight 141...

ISS crew completes first spacewalk
Posted: Sat, Jun 9 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)
Two members of the International Space Station Expedition Two crew completed their first spacewalk Friday, installing a docking apparatus in a section of the station....

NASA approves Mercury orbiter mission
Posted: Fri, Jun 8 10:52 AM ET (1452 GMT)
NASA gave the green light Thursday to development of the first spacecraft to orbit the planet Mercury. The Mercury Surface, Space Environment, Geochemistry and Ranging (...

Weather delays Ariane launch
Posted: Fri, Jun 8 10:28 AM ET (1428 GMT)
Poor weather conditions led Arianespace to scrub Friday morning's scheduled launch of an Intelsat communications satellite. An Ariane 44L was scheduled to lift off...



news in brief

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sun, Apr 8 9:30 AM ET (1330 GMT)

X Prize Foundation revives lunar prize competition
Posted: Sun, Apr 8 9:25 AM ET (1325 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, April 24
New Japan, U.S. launch contracts for Arianespace
Air & Cosmos International — 6:14 am ET (1014 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list