spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Second commercial passenger may fly on next Soyuz mission
Posted: Fri, Jun 29 11:59 AM ET (1559 GMT)
Russian company Energia may fly two commercial passengers on the next Soyuz taxi flight to the International Space Station, the web site RussianSpaceWeb.com reported...

NASA approves July 12 launch date for STS-104
Posted: Thu, Jun 28 11:37 PM ET (0337 GMT)
Space shuttle managers gave their approval late Thursday for a July 12 launch of the space shuttle Atlantis on a mission to the International Space...

NASA IG criticizes Propulsion Module management
Posted: Thu, Jun 28 7:05 PM ET (2305 GMT)
A report released Wednesday by NASA's Inspector General is highly critical of how the space agency managed the now-cancelled Propulsion Module program for...

Report: Russia planning to revive Buran space shuttle
Posted: Thu, Jun 28 10:32 AM ET (1432 GMT)
In a surprising and puzzling move, Russia is considering reviving its Buran space shuttle to carry equipment and tourists to the International Space Station, according...

Space tourism hearing turns into ISS debate
Posted: Wed, Jun 27 9:44 AM ET (1344 GMT)
A Congressional hearing on the topic of space tourism Tuesday turned into a debate between Dennis Tito and a NASA official about the capabilities of...

SPACEHAB, Space Adventures, entrepreneurs win commercial space awards
Posted: Tue, Jun 26 6:31 PM ET (2231 GMT)
Two companies and two individuals were recognized Monday for their achievements in advancing the commercial space industry. SPACEHAB won the $10,000 Bigelow Prize, awarded...

Japan test flies RLV technology demonstrator
Posted: Tue, Jun 26 12:41 AM ET (0441 GMT)
The Japanese space agency ISAS successfully performed a low-altitude test flight last week of a vehicle designed to test technologies for a future single-...

Astrium and Alcatel to work together on new satellite platform
Posted: Mon, Jun 25 7:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)
Europe's two biggest satellite firms announced plans late last week to collaborate on a new communications satellite platform. Astrium and Alcatel, in conjunction with...

Australia plans funding for island launch complex
Posted: Sat, Jun 23 11:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)
The government of Australia will provide millions of dollars to help build a launch complex for a joint Australian-Russian venture, a government official said...

Atlantis rolled out to launch pad
Posted: Fri, Jun 22 1:54 PM ET (1754 GMT)
The space shuttle Atlantis was rolled out to its launch pad Thursday in preparation for a mission to the International Space Station next month. The...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list