spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Senate unanimously confirms Griffin
Posted: Thu, Apr 14 7:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)
The US Senate unanimously confirmed the nomination of Michael Griffin as the next NASA administrator Wednesday night, clearing the way for him to start work...

X Prize Cup plans announced
Posted: Thu, Apr 14 7:24 AM ET (1124 GMT)
The state of New Mexico will host the first X Prize Cup exhibition this October, the state and prize foundation officials announced Wednesday. The inaugural...

Griffin promises to revisit Hubble decision
Posted: Wed, Apr 13 8:59 AM ET (1259 GMT)
Michael Griffin, the president's nominee to become the next NASA administrator, told senators Tuesday that he will revisit a decision to cancel a shuttle...

China launches commercial communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Apr 12 7:22 PM ET (2322 GMT)
A Chinese Long March booster launched a Western-built commercial communications satellite late Tuesday. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite...

Agreement signed for Soyuz launches from Kourou
Posted: Tue, Apr 12 8:45 AM ET (1245 GMT)
Arianespace and the Russian space agency Roskosmos have signed an agreement that confirms plans to launch Soyuz rockets from Arianespace's launch site in French...

Air Force to evenly split future EELV launches
Posted: Tue, Apr 12 8:32 AM ET (1232 GMT)
The US Air Force will split a new batch of EELV launch contacts evenly between Lockheed Martin's Atlas 5 and Boeing's Delta 4,...

Minotaur launches Air Force satellite
Posted: Mon, Apr 11 9:07 PM ET (0107 GMT)
A Minotaur launch vehicle, in its first flight in nearly five years, placed an experimental Air Force satellite into orbit Monday morning. The Minotaur lifted...

Titan 4 launch delayed as Canadians express concerns
Posted: Sat, Apr 9 12:57 PM ET (1657 GMT)
The last launch of a Titan 4 from Cape Canaveral has been delayed several days for technical reasons while Canadian government officials complain that the...

Air Force, Boeing determine Delta 4 fix
Posted: Sat, Apr 9 12:42 PM ET (1642 GMT)
The Air Force and Boeing announced Friday that they have closed their investigation into a problem with the inaugural launch of the Delta 4 Heavy...

Cablevision to shut down Voom
Posted: Fri, Apr 8 8:32 AM ET (1232 GMT)
After a long and contentious battle that at one point pitted father against son, Cablevision decided late Thursday to shut down its struggling Voom satellite...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, August 14
Why we’re heading for an armed space race
The National (Scotland) — 3:19 am ET (0719 GMT)
Ghana is looking to outer space. It needs the law to match
The Conversation — 3:16 am ET (0716 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list