spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle rolls out as schedule concerns mount
Posted: Thu, Apr 7 8:45 AM ET (1245 GMT)
The space shuttle Discovery rolled out to the launch pad Wednesday in preparation for a launch this month even as agency officials and others raised...

Japan unveils long-range space policy
Posted: Thu, Apr 7 8:29 AM ET (1229 GMT)
The Japanese government unveiled a proposed national space program this week that would include human missions to the Moon in 20 years. The plan, released...

NASA extends Mars rover missions again
Posted: Wed, Apr 6 7:15 AM ET (1115 GMT)
NASA announced Tuesday that it has extended the mission of the highly successful Mars Exploration Rovers for up to 18 more months. The twin rovers,...

Russia to institute launch cost controls
Posted: Tue, Apr 5 7:47 PM ET (2347 GMT)
The Russian space agency Roskosmos has announced plans to keep commercial launch providers in the country from undercutting rivals in launch costs. In a statement...

Astronomers claim to take picture of exoplanet
Posted: Tue, Apr 5 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)
Astronomers have taken what they believe is the first image of an extrasolar planet, although the object in question could be a more massive body....

Task force delay could affect shuttle launch
Posted: Mon, Apr 4 8:24 AM ET (1224 GMT)
A delay in the final report by a task force studying NASA's implementation of post-Columbia recommendations could force the agency to delay next...

DART launch scheduled for April 15
Posted: Mon, Apr 4 8:13 AM ET (1213 GMT)
NASA has rescheduled the launch of the long-delayed DART spacecraft for April 15, the space agency announced Friday. The Demonstration of Autonomous Rendezvous Technology...

Dolan pledges to keep Voom operating
Posted: Thu, Mar 31 1:46 PM ET (1846 GMT)
Cablevision chairman Charles Dolan is planning to invest up to $400 million of his own money to keep the satellite TV venture Voom operating, while...

Russia launches communications satellite
Posted: Wed, Mar 30 8:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
A Proton rocket successfully launched a domestic Russian communications satellite early Wednesday. The Proton K lifted off from Baikonur Cosmodrome at 5:31 pm EST...

ISS crew completes spacewalk
Posted: Mon, Mar 28 1:49 PM ET (1849 GMT)
The two-man crew of the International Space Station performed a spacewalk Monday morning, successfully wrapping up their work well ahead of schedule. Leroy Chiao...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list