spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA picks Stennis for new backoffice
Posted: Tue, May 10 7:20 AM ET (1120 GMT)
NASA announced Monday that it has selected the Stennis Space Center in Mississippi as the home of a new backoffice for the space agency. NASA...

Mars Express boom deployment delayed
Posted: Mon, May 9 8:01 PM ET (0001 GMT)
The European Space Agency announced Monday that it was postponing the deployment of a second boom used by the radar instrument on Mars Express in...

NASA to swap shuttle tanks
Posted: Mon, May 9 6:59 AM ET (1059 GMT)
NASA shuttle managers decided late Friday to exchange the external tank currently mounted to the shuttle Discovery with one intended to be used on the...

Scientists link Saturn moon to outer solar system
Posted: Mon, May 9 6:51 AM ET (1051 GMT)
Planetary scientists reported last week that an outer moon of Saturn surveyed by NASA's Cassini spacecraft last year most likely originated in the outer...

Mars Polar Lander crash site spotted
Posted: Fri, May 6 8:20 AM ET (1220 GMT)
Scientists examining images of the surface of Mars said Thursday that they have spotted what they believe may be the crash site of NASA's...

India launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Thu, May 5 8:53 AM ET (1253 GMT)
An Indian rocket successfully launched a domestic remote sensing satellite Thursday. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) lifted off from a new pad at the...

STS-114 crew completes launch rehearsal
Posted: Thu, May 5 8:39 AM ET (1239 GMT)
The crew of the first post-Columbia shuttle mission wrapped up a dress rehearsal for its July launch this week, encountering only a few minor...

ILS announces Atlas, Proton contracts
Posted: Wed, May 4 8:14 AM ET (1214 GMT)
International Launch Services announced this week that it signed agreements for the Atlas launch of a US government payload and a commercial Proton launch. ILS...

Boeing, Lockheed form EELV joint venture
Posted: Mon, May 2 11:32 PM ET (0332 GMT)
In a surprise move, Boeing and Lockheed Martin announced late Monday that the two companies planned to form a joint venture to build and launch...

Astronomers confirm exoplanet image
Posted: Sun, May 1 11:54 AM ET (1554 GMT)
European astronomers confirmed Saturday that a image of a faint object next to a brown dwarf is indeed an extrasolar planet, making it the first...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 21
Space dust may transport life between worlds
Univ. of Edinburgh — 1:05 am ET (0605 GMT)

Monday, November 20
Orion spacecraft enjoying calmer seas ahead of All-Hands review
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 12:56 am ET (0556 GMT)
Is Trump's NASA Nominee Ready to Tackle Climate Change?
Wired News — 12:55 am ET (0555 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list