spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Giant Kuiper Belt object discovered
Posted: Thu, Jul 5 3:11 PM ET (1911 GMT)
Astronomers announced earlier this week that they have discovered an object in the distant Kuiper Belt that could be larger than Pluto's moon, Charon....

NASDA announces launch date for first H-2A
Posted: Wed, Jul 4 11:19 AM ET (1519 GMT)
The Japanese space agency NASDA announced Wednesday it is planning to launch its new H-2A booster on its maiden flight late next month. Officials...

X-38 drop test delayed until next week
Posted: Wed, Jul 4 10:57 AM ET (1457 GMT)
A planned drop test of the X-38 experimental vehicle, delayed last week, will not take place until next week, according to NASA officials. The...

European-Russian deal opens door for Soyuz launches from Kourou
Posted: Tue, Jul 3 10:04 AM ET (1404 GMT)
An agreement signed Monday between a European company and Rosaviakosmos raises the possibility that Russian Soyuz rockets may one day launch from the spaceport in...

Discovery rolls out to launch pad for STS-105 mission
Posted: Tue, Jul 3 9:44 AM ET (1344 GMT)
The space shuttle Discovery was rolled out to the launch pad Monday in preparation for its mission to the International Space Station next month. It...

Delta launches MAP spacecraft
Posted: Sat, Jun 30 5:22 PM ET (2122 GMT)
A Delta 2 successfully launched a NASA astronomy spacecraft Saturday afternoon. The Delta 2 lifted off on schedule at 3:46 pm EDT (1946 GMT)...

ISS budget overruns increase, more cuts planned
Posted: Sat, Jun 30 12:06 PM ET (1606 GMT)
The budget overrun for NASA's portion of the International Space Station has increased by about $800 million, prompting a new round of cuts, space...

NASA, ESA confirm plans to revise Cassini mission
Posted: Sat, Jun 30 11:30 AM ET (1530 GMT)
The Cassini mission to Saturn will be altered slightly to handle problems with the Huygens drop probe, NASA and ESA officials confirmed Friday. The deployment...

Second commercial passenger may fly on next Soyuz mission
Posted: Fri, Jun 29 11:59 AM ET (1559 GMT)
Russian company Energia may fly two commercial passengers on the next Soyuz taxi flight to the International Space Station, the web site RussianSpaceWeb.com reported...

NASA approves July 12 launch date for STS-104
Posted: Thu, Jun 28 11:37 PM ET (0337 GMT)
Space shuttle managers gave their approval late Thursday for a July 12 launch of the space shuttle Atlantis on a mission to the International Space...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list