spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: October 27-28
Posted: Sun, Oct 28 7:55 PM ET (0055 GMT)
Former astronaut Gene Cernan survived a helicopter accident in the Czech Republic without injury Sunday, the AP reported. Cernan was in a helicopter with Czech...

Mars Odyssey begins aerobraking
Posted: Sun, Oct 28 9:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft started the aerobraking phase of its mission late Friday, skimming through the upper fringes of the Martian atmosphere. The spacecraft...

News briefs: October 26
Posted: Sat, Oct 27 9:55 AM ET (1355 GMT)
The partner nations of the International Space Station project were given the 2001 Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation Friday in a ceremony in...

Russia launches Molniya satellite
Posted: Fri, Oct 26 10:12 AM ET (1412 GMT)
A Russian Molniya-M booster launched a military communications satellite Thursday. The booster lifted off from the Plestsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 7:34...

News briefs: October 25
Posted: Fri, Oct 26 9:48 AM ET (1348 GMT)
Astronomers have discovered 30 brown dwarfs in a star forming region 540 light-years from Earth, ESA announced Thursday. The brown dwarfs, stars too small...

Endeavour moved to VAB for launch preparations
Posted: Thu, Oct 25 11:23 AM ET (1523 GMT)
NASA moved the space shuttle Endeavour to the Vehicle Assembly Building (VAB) at the Kennedy Space Center Wednesday, the next step in preparations for the...

News briefs: October 24
Posted: Thu, Oct 25 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)
The launch of a Taiwanese sounding rocket failed early Wednesday, AFP reported. The rocket lifted off from the Chiupeng base in southern Taiwan at 2:...

Spinning black hole releases energy
Posted: Wed, Oct 24 7:25 PM ET (2325 GMT)
Astronomers have discovered for the first time a black hole that is releasing energy through a complex interaction with magnetic fields and gases, astronomers announced...

Report: Moorman turns down NASA administrator post
Posted: Wed, Oct 24 1:05 PM ET (1705 GMT)
Retired Air Force general Thomas Moorman, a leading candidate to succeed outgoing NASA administrator Dan Goldin, has reportedly declined the job, SPACE.com reported Wednesday....

News briefs: October 23
Posted: Wed, Oct 24 12:53 PM ET (1653 GMT)
Northrop Grumman announced this week that it is creating a Space Systems Division after acquiring a division of Aerojet. The Space Systems Division will combine...



news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 20
Gilmour secures ex-NASA experts for advisory board
Defence Connect (Australia) — 1:12 am ET (0512 GMT)
Neptune, as you’ve never seen it
Cosmos Magazine — 1:05 am ET (0505 GMT)
Brightest early galaxy not so early after all
Cosmos Magazine — 1:05 am ET (0505 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list