spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mars Odyssey enters orbit
Posted: Wed, Oct 24 12:12 AM ET (0412 GMT)
NASA's 2001 Mars Odyssey spacecraft successfully entered orbit around Mars Tuesday night. The spacecraft fired its main engine for approximately 20 minutes starting at...

Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Tue, Oct 23 12:38 PM ET (1638 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying two Russian cosmonauts and one French astronaut docked with the International Space Station Tuesday morning. The Soyuz TM-33 spacecraft docked...

News briefs: October 22
Posted: Tue, Oct 23 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)
Russia is planning to launch a Molniya-M rocket Thursday, the RIA Novosti news agency reported Monday. The launch, to take place from the Plesetsk...

India launches three satellites
Posted: Mon, Oct 22 1:13 PM ET (1713 GMT)
An Indian launch vehicle successfully placed three spacecraft into polar orbit Monday. The Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) C3 lifted off from the Indian Space...

Soyuz launches on ISS taxi mission
Posted: Sun, Oct 21 11:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft carrying two Russian cosmonauts and one French astronaut lifted off Sunday morning on a taxi mission to the International Space Station. The...

Report critical of astronaut training, corps size
Posted: Sun, Oct 21 11:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)
A Florida Today investigative report published Sunday concludes that NASA is wasting money on an astronaut corps that is too large for current flight needs....

News briefs: October 19
Posted: Sat, Oct 20 10:56 AM ET (1456 GMT)
NASA will fly next month the shields of the 23 New York City police officers killed in the September 11 terrorist attacks, SPACE.com reported...

Soyuz moved to new ISS docking port
Posted: Fri, Oct 19 12:20 PM ET (1620 GMT)
The crew of the International Space Station flew a Soyuz spacecraft from one docking port on the International Space Station to another early Friday. The...

News briefs: October 19
Posted: Fri, Oct 19 10:57 AM ET (1457 GMT)
NASA will require an additional $93.1 million to pay for enhanced security, Florida Today reports. The request is part of a $20 billion package...

Mars Odyssey ready to go into orbit
Posted: Fri, Oct 19 1:02 AM ET (0502 GMT)
NASA's Mars Odyssey spacecraft is on track to go into orbit around Mars next week, project officials said Thursday. The spacecraft will fire its...



news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Friday, November 24
Instant rockets: How ISRO is developing a niche in the global space market
The Economic Times (India) — 2:47 am ET (0747 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list