spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Arianespace wins contracts for two Korean satellites
Posted: Sat, Feb 14 8:29 PM ET (0129 GMT)
Arianespace announced Friday that it won contracts from a South Korean institute for launches of two weather satellites late this decade. the contract with the...

Virgin Galactic sets up LauncherOne facility in Long Beach
Posted: Sat, Feb 14 8:23 PM ET (0123 GMT)
Virgin Galactic announced this week that it will establish a new center for the design and manufacturing of its LauncherOne rocket in Long Beach, California....

Falcon 9 launches DSCOVR
Posted: Thu, Feb 12 7:40 AM ET (1240 GMT)
A SpaceX Falcon 9 successfully launched a space and Earth sciences spacecraft Wednesday evening, but heavy seas scuttled an attempt by the company to recover...

Vega launches reentry technology demonstrator
Posted: Thu, Feb 12 7:29 AM ET (1229 GMT)
A Vega rocket launched a European Space Agency experimental spaceplane Wednesday, a vehicle that splashed down successfully after a 100-minute flight. The Vega rocket...

Dragon splashes down in Pacific
Posted: Wed, Feb 11 6:46 AM ET (1146 GMT)
A SpaceX Dragon cargo spacecraft carrying nearly 1,700 kilograms of experiments and equipment from the International Space Station left the station Tuesday, splashing down...

House passes NASA authorization bill
Posted: Wed, Feb 11 6:35 AM ET (1135 GMT)
The US House of Representatives approved Tuesday a NASA authorization bill nearly identical to one it passed last year. The House passed on a voice...

Winds postpone DSCOVR launch
Posted: Wed, Feb 11 6:29 AM ET (1129 GMT)
Strong upper level winds forced SpaceX to postpone Tuesday's scheduled launch of an Earth and space sciences spacecraft from Cape Canaveral. The Falcon 9...

Technical problems postpone SpaceX DSCOVR launch
Posted: Mon, Feb 9 6:18 AM ET (1118 GMT)
A problem with a tracking radar scrubbed the scheduled launch of a space and earth sciences satellite Sunday on a Falcon 9. Controllers scrubbed the...

Harris to acquire Exelis
Posted: Sat, Feb 7 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)
Harris Corporation announced Friday a deal to acquire Exelis, bringing together two companies that perform space and defense work. Harris will acquire Exelis for $4....

Planck data show first stars formed later than expected
Posted: Sat, Feb 7 9:54 AM ET (1454 GMT)
Analysis of data from ESA's Planck spacecraft show the universe's first stars formed more than 100 million years later than previously thought. Astronomers...



news in brief
FCC chairman endorses SpaceX satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress after delay
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)

NASA budget proposal seeks to cancel WFIRST
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:20 PM ET (2320 GMT)

news links
Friday, February 23


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list