spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress launched to ISS
Posted: Fri, Jul 3 10:46 AM ET (1446 GMT)
A Russian Progress spacecraft successfully launched to the International Space Station early Friday, a little more than two months after the previous such mission failed....

Falcon 9 fails on cargo mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 28 4:24 PM ET (2024 GMT)
A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket malfunctioned a little more than two minutes after liftoff Sunday morning, destroying a Dragon cargo spacecraft intended for the International...

OneWeb announces $500 million in funding, launch contracts
Posted: Sat, Jun 27 11:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)
OneWeb, the startup planning a constellation of low Earth orbit satellites for broadband communications, announced this week it has raised $500 million from a group...

China launches Earth imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 27 10:54 AM ET (1454 GMT)
A Long March rocket placed what Chinese officials said was a civil remote sensing satellite into orbit Friday. The Long March 4B rocket lifted off...

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Fri, Jun 26 2:55 PM ET (1855 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket launched a reconnaissance satellite from on Tuesday. A Soyuz-2.1b rocket lifted off from Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 12:...

Vega launches Earth sciences spacecraft
Posted: Fri, Jun 26 2:35 PM ET (1835 GMT)
A Vega rocket successfully placed a European Earth sciences satellite into orbit late Monday. The Vega lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 9:52...

US-Argentine Earth science spacecraft fails in orbit
Posted: Sat, Jun 20 11:39 AM ET (1539 GMT)
A four-year-old Earth sciences satellite developed by the United States and Argentina has failed in orbit, NASA announced this week. The Satelite de...

NASA approves Europa mission for next phase of development
Posted: Sat, Jun 20 11:24 AM ET (1524 GMT)
NASA announced this week that a proposed mission to Jupiter's moon Europa has been approved to formally enter its next stage of development. The...

OneWeb selects Airbus for satellite construction deal
Posted: Fri, Jun 19 7:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)
OneWeb, the venture planning a constellation of hundreds of low Earth orbit communications satellites, announced this week it has selected Airbus Defence and Space to...

Philae awakes from hibernation
Posted: Sun, Jun 14 11:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)
The European Space Agency's Philae comet lander contacted Earth this weekend for the first time since shortly after its landing in November. ESA announced...



news in brief
Soyuz upper stage issue may delay first OneWeb launch
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)

SSL backs out of satellite servicing program with DARPA
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)


news links
Saturday, February 16
Building a better booster (part 1)
The Space Review — 3:49 pm ET (2049 GMT)
A helping hand for giant telescopes
The Space Review — 3:48 pm ET (2048 GMT)
A space-focused alternative to a Green New Deal
The Space Review — 3:47 pm ET (2047 GMT)
Review: War in Space
The Space Review — 3:46 pm ET (2046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list