spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: April 26
Posted: Sat, Apr 27 10:56 AM ET (1456 GMT)
TRW announced late Friday that it has signed confidentiality agreements with several companies, allowing them to study TRW's financial information as a prelude to...

Big Bang alternative proposed
Posted: Fri, Apr 26 11:48 AM ET (1548 GMT)
Cosmologists have published an alternative model of the universe, replacing a single Big Bang with a continuing series of expansions and contractions. Paul Steinhardt and...

News briefs: April 25
Posted: Fri, Apr 26 11:32 AM ET (1532 GMT)
Space Systems/Loral is planning to cancel a contract it has for launches on Japan's H-2A booster, Reuters reported Thursday. The president of...

Report: Progress funding problem threatens future ISS missions
Posted: Thu, Apr 25 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)
A funding shortfall in Russia has delayed the construction of several Progress resupply spacecraft, and unless funding is restored the station may need to be...

Soyuz launches with space tourist Shuttleworth
Posted: Thu, Apr 25 8:02 AM ET (1202 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket carrying three people, including space tourist Mark Shuttleworth, lifted off early Thursday on a flight to the International Space Station. The Soyuz...

News briefs: April 24
Posted: Thu, Apr 25 7:46 AM ET (1146 GMT)
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs, a state government agency, has filed a lawsuit against NASA in an effort to slow down or stop construction of...

Northrop claims partial victory in TRW vote
Posted: Thu, Apr 25 7:28 AM ET (1128 GMT)
Northrop Grumman and TRW each claimed success in the results of a vote by TRW's shareholders on Wednesday. The shareholders rejected a Northrop request...

White dwarfs confirm age of universe
Posted: Thu, Apr 25 6:42 AM ET (1042 GMT)
A new study of white dwarf stars in a nearby cluster has provided an independent confirmation of the age of the universe. Astronomers used the...

Scientists track down mysteries of solar neutrinos, cosmic rays
Posted: Thu, Apr 25 6:30 AM ET (1030 GMT)
Scientists have found new evidence that explains the mystery of "missing" solar neutrinos as well as the origins of the most powerful cosmic rays. Scientists...

News briefs: April 23
Posted: Wed, Apr 24 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
XCOR Aerospace announced Tuesday that it had acquired a number of intellectual property assets of Rotary Rocket Company, a startup that had tried to develop...



news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 18
Business time at rocket lab
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:29 am ET (0929 GMT)
'Read With Me' Author Explores Private Space Travel
Northern Public Radio — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
Forget Galileo – UK space sector should look to young stars instead
Institution of Mechanical Engineers — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list