spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts complete third spacewalk outside ISS
Posted: Sat, Jul 21, 2001, 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)
STS-104 EVA 3 (NASA) Two shuttle astronauts completed the installation of a new airlock module to the International Space Station during a four-hour spacewalk late Friday night. Astronauts Mike Gernhardt and James Reilly started the spacewalk at 12:35 am EDT (0435 GMT) Saturday and spent four hours and two minutes outside the station, installing a final nitrogen gas tank to the exterior of the Quest module. Gernhardt and Reilly used the Quest module to exit and reenter the station, marking the first time the new airlock module has been used to stage an EVA. The spacewalk went well, although it got off to a late start when the airlock depressurized more slowly than expected. With their work at the station nearly complete, the STS-104 crew will depart the station late Saturday night: undocking of Atlantis is scheduled for 12:54 am EDT (0454 GMT) Sunday. Atlantis will return to Earth with a landing at the Kennedy Space Center late Monday night.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list