spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Two dead in JSC shooting
Posted: Fri, Apr 20, 2007, 8:36 PM ET (0036 GMT)
A gunman stormed into a building at NASA's Johnson Space Center in Houston Friday afternoon and killed one hostage before killing himself. According to media reports, a man entered Building 44 on the JSC campus at approximately 1:40 pm CDT (1840 GMT) Friday and barricaded himself inside. At least two shots were heard at that time. A third shot was heard at about 5 pm CDT (2200 GMT), at which time police entered the building, finding the bodies of the gunman and a male hostage; a female hostage was found unharmed. The gunman was a white male between 50-60 years old and an employee of Jacobs Engineering, a JSC contractor. JSC was under lockdown for some time after the initial shooting, but employees were later allowed to leave the center.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 20
The new space race
The Economist — 9:47 am ET (1447 GMT)
No launch for Rocket Lab today
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 9:44 am ET (1444 GMT)
Rocket Lab forced to abort launch again
NZCity — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)
Rocket Lab second test called off for today
Radio New Zealand — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list