spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Four Globalstar satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Oct 21, 2007, 10:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Soyuz rocket placed four Globalstar communications satellites into low Earth orbit early Sunday. The Soyuz-Fregat lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 4:12 pm EDT Saturday (2012 GMT Saturday, 2:12 am local time Sunday) carrying four Globalstar satellites, which separated from the Fregat upper stage 102 minutes after liftoff. The four satellites will be used to augment the existing Globalstar constellation of over 40 satellites that provide global phone and data services. Four other replacement satellites were launched in May, also on a Soyuz. The eight new satellites are considered critical to Globalstar since the original satellites, launched between 1998 and 2000, are suffering from a design flaw that is degrading the performance of their communications payload. A new generation of Globalstar satellites is under development by Thales Alenia Space; the first of these satellites will be ready for launch on Soyuz rockets from Kourou, French Guiana starting in late 2009.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 16
A look behind the scenes at the Parker Solar Probe
Johns Hopkins University — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
MIT's 'Orbit Weaver' Turns Astronauts into Spiders
Motherboard — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)
Hello, Crew Dragon: SpaceX inches closer to testing new manned capsule
Orlando Business Journal — 12:10 am ET (0410 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list