spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle cleared for Tuesday launch attempt
Posted: Mon, Oct 22, 2007, 8:57 AM ET (1257 GMT)
STS-120: logo (NASA) NASA shuttle managers said Sunday that everything was in good shape for Tuesday's launch of the shuttle Discovery on a critical ISS assembly mission. The launch of Discovery on mission STS-120 is scheduled for Tuesday at 11:38 am EDT (1538 GMT); officials said Sunday there were no technical problems associated with the launch and forecasts continued to call for a 60 percent chance of acceptable weather. Poor weather on Sunday had caused launch preparations to fall behind schedule, although that is not expected to affect the launch. The 14-day mission to the station features the delivery of Harmony, a new docking node for the station, and the move of a solar panel segment to its permanent location on the station's port-side truss. The seven-person crew also includes one astronaut, Dan Tani, who will remain behind on the station; current ISS astronaut Clay Anderson will return to Earth on Discovery.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 20
Space junk mission leads 2017 rocket launches
CNN — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
SpaceX to reopen legendary Kennedy launch site
Florida Politics — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
UAE’s MBRSC to launch its Project Space Forum on 24 January
Spacewatch Middle East — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Belarus-China cooperation in space exploration praised
Belarusian Telegraph Agency — 5:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
Akatsuki returns from the dead
Boulder Weekly — 5:24 am ET (1024 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list