spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Deep Space 1 flies by comet Borrelly
Posted: Sun, Sep 23, 2001, 9:32 AM ET (1332 GMT)
DS1 flies by comet Borrelly (NASA/JPL illus.) NASA's Deep Space 1 (DS1) spacecraft successfully flew by the comet Borrelly Saturday evening, returning images and other data about the comet. DS1 passed within 2,200 kilometers of Borrelly at 6:30 pm EDT (2230 GMT), and data from the flyby was received on Earth within a few hours of the flyby. Mission officials said that all four of DS1's instruments, including a camera and spectrometer, were able to collect data from the comet, including images taken within a few minutes of closest approach. None of those images were released Saturday night, but are expected to be made available in the next few days. The flyby is a major accomplishment for DS1, launched in October 1998 for what was to be a one-year technology demonstration mission. NASA had publicly kept low expectations about the flyby, noting the deteriorating health of the spacecraft and the hazards of flying close to a comet nucleus.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
Every 202,500 Years, Earth Wanders in a New Direction
New York Times — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Alien Asteroids Are Here, Scientists Say. Get Used to Them.
New York Times — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)
Antares launches Cygnus cargo spacecraft to ISS
Space News — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list