spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Solar flare delays Kodiak Star launch
Updated: Mon, Sep 24, 2001, 11:05 PM ET (0305 GMT)
Originally Posted: Mon, Sep 24, 2001, 10:06 PM ET (0206 GMT)
Kodiak Launch Complex (Alaska Aerospace) A strong solar flare Monday forced a delay in the launch of an Athena rocket for several days. The Athena 1 was scheduled to launch at 9 pm EDT (0100 GMT Tuesday) from Kodiak, Alaska, but mission managers elected earlier in the day to postpone the launch after a major solar flare was detected shortly before 7 am EDT (1100 GMT). Engineers were concerned that the proton flux from the flare could cause upsets in the booster's guidance system. The launch was tentatively rescheduled for Tuesday, but Spaceflight Now reports that managers decided late Monday to delay it again until at least Thursday because the intensity of the solar storm will keep the proton flux at high levels for some time. The launch, the first orbital mission from the Kodiak Launch Center, has already been postponed several times because of transportation delays related to the terrorist attacks earlier this month as well as weather. A faulty radar that caused the most recent delay Saturday has been repaired. The Athena 1 carries four spacecraft: the Starshine 3 satellite for NASA and three small spacecraft sponsored by the Defense Department.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 15
First Images from OSIRIS REx Mission Have Scientists Buzzing with Excitement
Univ. of Central Florida — 2:07 pm ET (1907 GMT)
NASA’s First Stellar Observatory, OAO 2, Turns 50
NASA/GSFC — 2:05 pm ET (1905 GMT)
Taming turbulence: Seeking to make complex simulations a breeze
Univ. of Wisconsin — 2:05 pm ET (1905 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list