spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Hubble reveals galactic collision
Posted: Wed, Oct 14, 2009, 7:39 AM ET (1139 GMT)
Hubble image of Arp 243 (NASA, ESA, A. Evans) Hubble Space Telescope images of an unusual galaxy released this week have revealed to astronomers that the object is actually the result of a galactic collision. The object, called NGC 2623 or Arp 243, is 250 million light-years from the Earth. The Hubble images have demonstrated to astronomers that the object is actually the result of the collision of two spiral galaxies. The images show two tails extending out from the center that contain young stars created during the merger process.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Saturday, April 30
Japan gives up on rescuing black hole observatory
Spaceflight Now — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
AI upgrade from MIT, Northeastern gets NASA robot ready for space
Christian Science Monitor — 8:43 am ET (1243 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list